Marketing


Library Guides


Databases - Try These First

ABI Inform Global

Description:
ABI covers business and trade journals for marketing. Included topics are: market shares, company, brands, and consumer information.

Business Source Complete

Description:
Full text peer-reviewed business journals & abstracts for scholarly business journals back to 1886.

eMarketer

Description:
Market research information related to the Internet, e-business, online marketing & emerging technologies.

Passport GMID

Description:
International consumer information includes statistics, reports, & range of consumer lifestyle information.

MarketResearch.com Academic

Description:
Access over 500 market research reports.

Mintel Reports

Description:
Market research reports, data & analysis of the competitive landscape & profiles. Instructions: Individual registration required.
Instructions:
Individual registration required. 

PMB (Print Measurement Bureau)

Description:
Annual data on Canadian consumer preferences, product usage, & consumer lifestyles. Note: Category reports require Internet Explorer.
Instructions:

Note: Category reports require Internet Explorer.

 

Databases


2006 Community Profiles

Description:
Statistical profiles of Canadian communities highlighting education, income, work, families, dwellings, & population demographics.  

Academic Search Complete

Description:
Provides indexing, abstracts, & full-text scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines, including marketing.  
limited to the University of Alberta community The Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library

Alacra

Description:
Search engine that searches multiple business databases at once for marketing information: by product, company and sector.  
limited to the University of Alberta community

Business & Industry Database

Description:
Search trade magazines for brand share, product and marketing information.
Proud Contributor - Wall Street ExecutiveLibrary
(www.executivelibrary.com) 
limited to the University of Alberta community

CARDOnline

Description:
Provides Canadian advertising rates, data, media planning info, & a media directory. Search for ad agencies, newspapers, associations, etc. Instructions: Please note - Email and password not required  
Instructions:
Please note - Email and password not required.  
limited to the University of Alberta community

CBCA Complete

Description:
This database covers Canadian marketing information in trade and business magazines.  
limited to the University of Alberta community The Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library

comScore

Description:
Metrics on website activities; unique site visitors, % reach, % unique visitors, average daily visitors, minutes, total pages viewed.  
limited to the University of Alberta community

DemographicsNow: Library Edition

Description:
Analysis of the demographic & market potential of any geography in the U.S.  
limited to the University of Alberta community

E-STAT (Statistics Canada)

Description:
Statistics Canada articles & statistical tables on diverse topics. Tables from 1996, 1991, & 1986 Censuses of Canada are included.  

Factiva

Description:
Covers numerous newswires and newspapers around the world; useful for consumer information by region.  
limited to the University of Alberta community

Freedonia Focus Industry Market Research Portal

Description:
Market research reports that include in depth analysis of market, product,industry & competitors.  
limited to the University of Alberta community

Gale Directory Library

Description:
Includes Brands & Their Companies, Market Share Reporter, Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources, & more.  
limited to the University of Alberta community

Ingenta

Description:
Useful as a current awareness alerting service for various marketing journals.Contains table of contents information & article citations from over 27,000 publications. Articles date as far back as the 1950's.  
limited to the University of Alberta community

Investext Plus

Description:
Database of brokerage house reports by company and industry information. Market and brand share is noted.  
Instructions:
Please note that University of Alberta access to this product does include the full reports. If you see a fee associated with reports, it is being covered by the University of Alberta Libraries' subscription and you will not be charged. Note: Please use Internet Explorer. Does not work with Firefox, Safari, Chrome, or most other browsers.  
limited to the University of Alberta community

Ipsos News Center

Description:
Database of all publicly released polling data undertaken by Ipsos Reid, accompanied by detailed data tables with demographic breakdowns.  
limited to the University of Alberta community

MarketLine Advantage

Description:
Provides market comparison, market size, segmentation, share & distribution data for 150 consumer products in 55 countries.  
limited to the University of Alberta community

PsycINFO

Description:
Journal articles, dissertations, & technical reports about psychology including consumer behaviour dating as far back as 1806.  
limited to the University of Alberta community

SimplyMap

Description:
Contains demographic data, projections, Household Expenditure Potential, PRIZM C2 information, etc. for all areas of Canada.  
limited to the University of Alberta community

Statistics Canada Downloadable Publications

Description:
Links to Statistics Canada publications that include statistics on demographics, employment, trade, crime, economic indicators, retail sales, communications & more.  

SuperDemographics

Description:
Provides access to Canadian demographic information down to neighborhood level that includes income, lifestyle, education, household expenditure, etc.  
limited to the University of Alberta community

TableBase

Description:
Specializes exclusively in tabular data on market share, companies, industries, products, demographics, etc.  
limited to the University of Alberta community