Physics


Library Guides


Databases - Try These First

Inspec

Description:
Physics, Electrical and computer engineering, Information technology

Web of Science

Description:
Citation databases for Arts & Humanities, Science, and Social Sciences
Instructions:
Internet Explorer 9 Users - If you encounter problems, please use Compatibility Mode 

Scopus

Description:
Citation database for science, technology, medicine, social sciences

Databases


Academic Search Complete

Description:
Multidisciplinary  
limited to the University of Alberta community The Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library

Advances in Polymer Science

Description:
Materials science  
limited to the University of Alberta community

arXiv.org

Description:
Physics  

CRCnetBASE

Description:
Chemistry and related subjects  
limited to the University of Alberta community

DOE Information Bridge

Description:
Department of Energy (DOE) research and development reports (U.S.)  

E-print Network: Research Communications for Scientists and Engineers

Description:
Preprints in science and technology, collected by the US Dept of Energy  

GeoRef

Description:
Earth sciences  
limited to the University of Alberta community

GeoScience World

Description:
Geosciences  
limited to the University of Alberta community

Google Scholar

Description:
Scholarly material, including academic journals  

INIS Database

Description:
 

Journal Citation Reports (JCR)

Description:
Science, technology, and social sciences  
Instructions:
Internet Explorer 9 Users - If you encounter problems, please use Compatibility Mode 
limited to the University of Alberta community

JSTOR

Description:
Humanities, social sciences, and sciences fulltext  
limited to the University of Alberta community

Knovel

Description:
Engineering and science e-books  
limited to the University of Alberta community

MATHnetBASE

Description:
Mathematics  
limited to the University of Alberta community

MathSciNet

Description:
Mathematics  
limited to the University of Alberta community

NANOnetBASE

Description:
Nanotechnology  
limited to the University of Alberta community

OCLC WorldCat

Description:
WorldCat database (World-wide library catalogue) via the FirstSearch platform.  
limited to the University of Alberta community

PHYSICSnetBASE

Description:
Physics  
limited to the University of Alberta community

Safari Books Online

Description:
Full-text computer manuals and handbooks  
Instructions:
Some books in this collection have print restrictions. It is not possible to print pages from "Print Fidelity" books which do not have a PDF icon or an alternative HTML format associated with them.  
limited to the University of Alberta community

The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System

Description:
Astrophysics  

Science Citation Index

Description:
Part of the Web of Science.  
limited to the University of Alberta community

ScienceDirect

Description:
Scientific, technical, medical, business & economics literature - fulltext.  
limited to the University of Alberta community

SciFinder

Description:
Chemistry  

SPIE Digital Library

Description:
Optical engineering  
limited to the University of Alberta community

SPIN Database (Searchable Physics Information Notices)

Description:
Physics and astronomy  
Instructions:
(Select SPIN) 

SpringerLink

Description:
Multidisciplinary  
Instructions:
Springer-Verlag journals.  
limited to the University of Alberta community

Wiley Online Library

Description:
Fulltext from academic journals and selected e-books.  
limited to the University of Alberta community