This guide has been updated and moved to the following URL: http://guides.library.ualberta.ca/citation_internet
Internet and electronic information, with no print equivalents, present new challenges to scholars. Increasingly information is being published only in electronic formats, and questions about how to cite these sources in academic papers have become frequent at library service desks. This guide is written for students at the University of Alberta and is not meant to be definitive. Comments are very welcome.
Most style authorities classify electronic sources into two major types: web resources, online sources and other electronic sources.
Web and Online sources may include:
Other electronic sources may include:
Return to Table of Contents
As more information becomes available on the Internet and in electronic form, some standardization of citation formats is necessary in order to provide accurate references to authorship and to facilitate access to the sources. The style authorities have various approaches to the citation of electronic sources and, in general, there is little agreement among them. However, there are two principles emerging to which all authorities appear to adhere: 1) provide as much information as possible concerning the authorship and the availability of the sources, and 2) if there is no specific guideline for a particular electronic source, draw an analogy to a relevant print source guideline.
The ISO (International Standards Organization) standard appears to be the most complete in citation elements. DIS 690-2 recommends that the following citation elements be included in bibliographic references to electronic documents:
For further information, contact:
ISO/TC 46/SC 9 Secretariat
National Library of Canada
Internet: iso.tc46.sc9@nlc-bnc.ca
Return to Table of Contents
Please note that on June 2007, APA published a new style guide for electronic references which replaced section 4.16 of the fifth edition of the APA manual (2001, pp.268-281). You may also consult the APA's website at http://www.apastyle.org/elecmedia.html.
Important changes include:
Citation Examples
A Journal Article with DOI
Marsh, H. W., Trautwein, U., Lüdtke, O., Baumert, J., & Köller, O. (2007).
The big-fish-little-pond effect: Persistent negative effects of selective
high schools on self-concept after graduation. American Educational
Research Journal, 44(3), 631. doi: 10.3102/0002831207306728
A Journal Article with no DOI
Schrader, A. (1999). Internet Censorship: Issues for teacher-librarian. Teacher
Librarian, 26(5). Retrieved from http://proquest.umi.com/pqdlink?
did=42031752&sid=1&Fmt=2&clientId=12301&RQT=309&VName=PQD
Note: Do not insert a hyphen to break a URL across line, and do not add a period after the URL.
If you have three to five authors
:
Henri, J., Hay, L., & Oberg, D. (2002). An international study on principal
influence and information services in schools: Synergy in theme and
methods. School Libraries Worldwide, 8(1), 49. Retrieved
from http://proquest.umi.com/pqdlink?did=145956141&sid=2&Fmt=
1&clientId=12301&RQT=309&VName=PQD
(Note: APA (p.227) indicates that in electronic sources, page numbers are often not relevant.)
A Magazine Article
Alexandra Penn (2006, November). Raising the Alert on Cyber Bullying.
Teach, 17-18. Retrieved from http://proquest.umi.com/pqdlink?did=
1226114671&sid=5&Fmt=2&clientId=12301&RQT=309&VName=PQD
An Abstract
Andison, C. A. (1998). Learning disabilities and peer victimization in schools.
[Abstract]. Retrieved from UMI ProQuest Digital Dissertation
database. (AAT MQ37470).
An Internet Journal Article with No Print Equivalent
Foster, S. K., Paulk, A., & Dastoor, B. R. (1999). Can we really teach test-taking
skills? New Horizons in Adult Education, 13(1). Retrieved February 7,
2000, from http://www.nova.edu/~aed/newhorizons.html
An ERIC document
Mackey, M. (1999, November). The changing powers of readers in a time of
new technology. Paper presented at the Annual Conference of the
International Association of School Librarianship (IASL), Birmingham, Al.
(ERIC Document Reproduction Service No. ED 437067 ). Retrieved from
http://www.eric.ed.gov/ERICDocs/data/ericdocs2sql/content_storage
_01/0000019b/80/16/00/60.pdf
An Online Full-text Dissertation
Branch, J. L. (2000). Information-seeking processes of junior high students:
A case study of CD-ROM encyclopedia use (Doctoral dissertation,
University of Alberta, 2000). ProQuest Digital Dissertations (AAT NQ59566)
An E-Book
Polette, N. J. (2000). Gifted books, gifted readers: Literature activities to excite
young minds. Englewood, Co: Libraries Unlimited. Retrieved from
netLibrary database.
A Newspaper Article
Avery, B. (2000, February 9). Oil Prices likely to remain high: Non-OPEC suppliers
unable to challenge cartel. The EdmontonJournal. Retrieved from
http://www.edmontonjournal.com/
Online encyclopedia
Adamski, B. K. (n.d.). Lacrosse. In Canadian Encyclopedia Online. Retrieved
September 15, 2006, from http://www.thecanadianencyclopedia.com/
index.cfm?PgNm=TCE&Params=A1SEC888940
A Web Document
American Psychological Association. (2001). Electronic references. Retrieved
November 1, 2001, from http://www.apastyle.org/elecref.html
A Web Site
No reference entry is needed; give the URL of the site in text. For example,
2Learn is a very useful Web site for teachers http://www.2Learn.ca/mapset/mapset.html
Cite e-mail communication in text only. No reference entry is needed. For example,
J. Tong (personal communication, February 9, 2000)
Illustrations
To provide full citation of illustrations, include a note at the bottom of the reprinted work (or in the caption) giving credit to the original author and to the copyright holder. Although APA does not include specific guidelines regarding images from websites, here is a suggestion drawn from an analogy to printed work. For example, to provide full bibliographic citation to a copyrighted photograph obtained from the Washington State University website, include a note at the bottom of the photograph:
Note. From Washington State University, Pullman, University Recreation. (2004). Men's Ice Hockey [Photograph]. Retrieved from http://urec.wsu.edu/photos/ Copyright 2002 by Board of Regents, Washington State University. Reprinted with permission.
APA style guide to electronic references (2007). Washington D.C.:APA.
Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (5th ed.).
(2001). Washington D.C.: APA.
Return to Table of Contents
Based on the principles outlined in the Chicago Manual1 and Turabian2, the following are sample references for citation of electronic sources. The Chicago style favored by writers in literature, history, and the arts, is a system known as "Notes and bibliography." This guide is meant for University of Alberta students doing their term paper assignments, and is not meant to be definitive and will be revised periodically.
The Chicago Manual of Style Quick Guide (Online)
http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/tools_citationguide.html
Citation Examples
The Chicago Manual requires that page references be included in the citation. The fact that on-line journal articles are seldom marked with page number makes it difficult to include page information. Give the total number of pages, paragraphs or lengths in words if they are provided. It is also acceptable to omit the page reference if the reference is to the article as a whole. In general, cite only what is available.
An On-line Journal Article
Footnote:
1. Alvin Schrader, "Internet Censorship: Issues for Teacher-Librarian," Teacher Librarian 26, no.5 (1999): par. 18, http://www.library.ualberta.ca/databases/databaseinfo/index.cfm?ID=63 (accessed November 24, 1999).
Bibliography:
Schrader, Alvin. "Internet Censorship: Issues for Teacher-Librarian."
Teacher Librarian 26, no.5 (1999): 5 pp. http://www.library.ualberta.ca/
databases/databaseinfo/index.cfm?ID=63 (accessed November 24, 1999)
A Magazine Article
Footnote:
2. John Schofield, "Fighting for French: a New Report Takes Aim at Barriers to Bilingualism for Canadian Students," Maclean's, August 28, 2000, 5, http://www.library.ualberta.ca/databases/databaseinfo/index.cfm?ID=135
Bibliography:
Schofield, John. "Fighting for French: a New Report Takes Aim at Barriers
to Bilingualism for Canadian Students." Maclean's, August 28, 2000.
http://www.library.ualberta.ca/databases/databaseinfo/index.cfm?ID=135
(accessed January 19, 2001).
An Unpublished Paper
Footnote:
3. Nawang Phuntsog, "Renewal of Tibetan School; Curriculum in Exile: A Tibetan-Centric Approach," (paper, 1994), 5, ED 383617, http://www.edrs.com/Webstore/Default.cfm (accessed January 21, 2001).
Bibliography:
Phuntsog, Nawang. "Renewal of Tibetan School; Curriculum in Exile: A
Tibetan-Centric Approach." Paper, 1994. ED 383617,
http://www.edrs.com/Webstore/Default.cfm (accessed January 21, 2001).
An Abstract
Footnote:
4. Naomi Sankar-DeLeeuw, "Gifted Young Children: An In-depth Investigation" (Ph.D. diss., University of Alberta, 1999), abstract in ProQuest Digital Dissertations, AATNQ46914, http://www.library.ualberta.ca/databases/databaseinfo/index.cfm?ID=168
(accessed January 21, 2001).Bibliography:
Sankar-DeLeeuw, Naomi. "Gifted Young Children: An In-depth
Investigation." Ph.D. diss., University of Alberta, 1999. Abstract in
ProQuest Digital Dissertations, AATNQ46914,
http://www.library.ualberta.ca/databases/databaseinfo/index.cfm?ID=168
(accessed January 21, 2001).
An Online Full-text Dissertation
Footnote:
5. Jennifer Branch, "Information-seeking processes of junior high students: A case study of CD-ROM encyclopedia use" (PhD diss., University of Alberta, 2001) Retrieved from ProQuest Digital Disserations (AAT NQ59566)
Bibliography:
Branch, Jennifer. "Information-seeking processes of junior high students:
A case study of CD-ROM encyclopedia use" (PhD diss., University of
Alberta, 2001) Retrieved from ProQuest Digital Dissertations
(AAT NQ59566)
An E-Book
Footnote:
6. Nancy J. Polette. Gifted books, gifted readers: Literature activities to
excite young minds. (Englewood: Libraries Unlimited, 2000), retrieved from
netLibrary database.Bibliography:
Polette, Nancy J. . Gifted books, gifted readers: Literature activities to
excite young minds. Englewood: Libraries Unlimited, 2000.
Retrieved from netLibrary database.
A Newspaper Article
Newspaper articles may be cited in the text ("As Bruce Avery noted in the Edmonton Journal Online article on February 9, 2000, ..."), and can be omitted from a bibliography or reference list.
An Encyclopaedia Article
It is not necessary to list well known reference books in bibliographies, cite the item preceded by s.v. (sub verbo, "under the word")
6. Encyclopaedia Britannica, s.v. "Ice hockey", http://www.britannica.com/ (accessed January 21, 2001).
A Web Site
7. University of Chicago Press, University of Chicago Press Online, http://www.press.uchicago.edu/ (accessed January 21, 2001).
A Web Document
8. International Olympic Committee, "IOC code of ethics," The Official Website of the Olympic Movement, http://www.olympic.org/uk/organisation/commissions/ethics/index_uk.asp, (accessed March 14, 2002).
Reference to e-mail may be included in a note.
9. Josie Tong, e-mail message to author, January 19, 2001.
_______________________________________________
References:
1. University of Chicago Press, The Chicago Manual of Style (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1993).
2. Kate L. Turabian, A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (Chicago: University Chicago Press, 1996).
Return to Table of Contents
Also known as Vancouver style. Based on an ANSI standard style adapted by the National Library of Medicine for its databases.
U.S. National Library of Medicine: International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE). Uniform requirements for manuscripts submitted to biomedical journals -- Sample References
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/uniform_requirements.html
See examples 35-41 for electronic material citation.
Return to Table of Contents
a. Vancouver/ICJME Style. There appears to be no consistency in formatting of Cochrane Reviews among the various publications that use Vancouver style (see here for examples), nor does the official Vancouver/ICJME reference example page at http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/uniform_requirements.html include any Cochrane Reviews. We suggest you cite Cochrane Reviews in the following format:
McCarney RW, Linde K, Lasserson TJ. Homeopathy for chronic asthma. Cochrane Database Syst Rev 2004, Issue 1. Art. No.: CD000353. DOI: 10.1002/14651858.CD000353.pub2.
This will comply with the Vancouver practice of abbreviating the source title, but still stick closely to the format recommended by the Cochrane Library. If you do not have the ‘CD’ number or the DOI for your review, look it up by author and/or title in the Cochrane Library.
The above example is a suggestion only. You might wish to confirm with your instructor whether he/she will accept our suggested format. If not, ask him/her to suggest how you should format the reference. If you are submitting an article for publication, check with the journal editor to determine the desired format for Cochrane reviews.
b. APA Style. There appears to be no consistency in formatting of Cochrane Reviews among the various publications that use APA style (see here for examples), nor does the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 5th ed. provide any examples of citing a Cochrane Review. We suggest you cite Cochrane Reviews in the following format:
McCarney, R.W., Linde, K., & Lasserson, T.J. (2004). Homeopathy for chronic asthma. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, (1), CD000353.
If you do not have the ‘CD’ number for your review, look it up by author and/or title in the Cochrane Library or in PubMed.
The above examples are suggestions only. You might wish to confirm with your instructor whether he/she will accept our suggested format. If not, ask him/her to suggest how you should format the reference. If you are submitting an article for publication, check with the journal editor to determine the desired format for Cochrane reviews.
Other Useful Style Sheets on the Net
Return to Table of Contents
References
The BlueBook. A Uniform System of Citation. 17th edition. Cambridge: the Harvard Law Review Association, 2000.
Return to Table of Contents
Herbert T. Coutts Education and Physical Education Library
University of Alberta
Author: Josie.Tong@ualberta.ca
Updated: April 21, 2009