A record of a first-hand observation of an event, a report of scientific research, or an original work of fiction or art. Examples:
Primary sources can give you extra information and insight when you are doing your research. Primary sources can be hard to understand without some knowledge of their context. You will need background knowledge of the historical period in which they were created, and of the people who created them.
When doing your background reading, consult the bibliographies of the encyclopedias, books, and journal articles you read. The bibliography will list any primary sources that the author used.
You will use different methods to find different types of primary sources. The charts below provide you with tips on searching for primary sources in the NEOS Libraries Catalogue, and in various print indexes and online databases.
Examples are provided below.
NEOS Libraries Catalogue (all date ranges)
Canadian Periodical Index (1920-present)
CIHM (Canadian 18th, 19th, early 20th centuries)
Early Canadiana Online (first contact to late 19th century)
Peel Bibliography (Western Canada pre-1953)
An Index to Saturday Night (Canadian 1887-1937)
Canadian Illustrated News Index (1869-1883)
Pooles' Plus (International, 19th century)
Bibliographia Canadiana (up to 1970)
Internet History Sourcebook
(Ancient History Sourcebook, Medieval Sourcebook, Medieval Legal Sourcebook, Modern History Sourcebook, etc.
Cumulated Magazine Subject Index (International, 1907-1949)
Historical Newspapers Online (London Times 1790-1980 and New York Times 1851-1920)
Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals (1837-1901)
Early English Books, Eighteenth Century, and Thomason Tract Collections
Guide to Research Collections in Microformat (University of Alberta) - many collections include primary sources
In the grey search box select subject after your keyword to tell the computer to look only at the subjects that have been assigned to the books, title to look only at the title, and author to look only at the author.
Use $ at the end of a word to broaden your search. The $ stands for any number of extra letters, ie: if you type Canad$ the computer will search for Canada, Canadian, Canadians, etc.
In the advanced search you may find it useful to combine your subject with with "sources" as another subject, "documents" as a title, or "personal narratives" as a subject, etc:
'description and travel' subject
'discovery and exploration' subject
'frontier and pioneer life' subject
'pioneers' subject
'social life and customs' subject
'World War 1914-1918' subject
'World War 1939-1945' subject
etc.
In print indexes, search by subject, and look for subdivisions that would indicate primary sources (ie: personal narratives, diaries, correspondence, letters, etc.)
In online databases, start with a keyword search to find out what is available.
Combine your search with words or phrases that denote primary sources (ie: sources, personal narratives, diaries, correspondence, letters, speeches, photographs, maps, etc.)
Example:
See: Using Internet Primary Sources to Teach Critical Thinking Skills in History
D 16.2 C79 1999 (this publication includes 100s of useful internet resources)
Finding Primary Sources in the NEOS Libraries Catalogue |
||
|
Type of Primary Source & Use |
Example Searches |
Example Document & Location |
|
Sources - use to find original documentation in a broad subject area (historical periods, movements, etc.) |
Library Catalogue Keyword search: b) reformation 'subject' and documents 'title' c) (medieval 'subject' or 'middle ages' 'subject') and (sources 'subject' or documents 'title') |
a) Alberta Folklore & Local History Collection - FC 3653 A333 - HSS SPCOL c) Readings in Medieval History |
|
Personal Narratives - use with names of individual events, wars, etc. for first hand accounts of the events. Use with persons, families, ethnic groups, etc. |
Library Catalogue Keyword search: b) China and diaries (and select 'subject') |
b) Letters from Old China: Letters and Diary Entries from 1901 to 1943 - |
|
Speeches, addresses, essays, papers, lectures, memoirs, correspondence, etc. NOTE: For works by historical figures, also look for their collected or selected works, which often include speeches, essays, correspondence, etc. |
In the Library Catalogue: a) Do an Author/Browse search and scan for useful entries, ie: King, Martin Luther b) Do a Words anywhere search for writings from a specific time period: |
a) Examples of Catalogue entries you will see: King, Martin Luther, Jr., 1929-1968. King, Martin Luther, Jr., 1929-1968. Papers. b) Letters home, 1944-1946 |
|
Photographs NOTE: Also use the AP Photo Archive database for images online. |
Library Catalogue Words anywhere search: b) 'rocky mountains' (and select 'subject')and picture (and select title)
|
a) High Above the Canadian Rockies b) Banff and Lake Louise, Canadian Rockies [picture] - FC 3664 B2 B34 – HSS SPCOL |
|
Maps - Look for prints or facsimiles Try also atlases. NOTE: See the U of A Libraries William C. Wonders Map Collection page |
Library Catalogue Keyword search: b) 'United States' and history and maps (and select 'subject') |
a) Handbook of Arctic and Canadian Exploration - b) The Atlas of the Civil War |
|
Fairy tales - Look for facsimiles, reprints, and microforms. Try also sagas. |
In the Library Catalogue: b) Do a Words anyhwhere search for fairy tales of a specific country or region: |
b) Swedish Fairy Tales |
|
Government Documents - proceedings, debates, speeches, etc. of municpal, regional, federal and international government bodies, organizations, agencies, and departments - Consult the Government Information pages on the UA Libraries web page. |
||
Finding Primary Sources in Indexes and Online Databases - Canadian Resources |
||
|
Index or Database |
Locations |
Example Document |
|
Canadian Periodical Index - indexes Canadian and international journals, magazines, newspapers, etc., covering current affairs, history, politics, etc. - indexes such publications as Canadian Speeches, Saturday Night, Time (Canadian Edition), etc. - Search by subject. Look for sources, speeches, addresses, personal narratives, etc. |
Citations for articles written 1920-1997: Citations for articles written 1988-present: |
"If Meech Lake fails Canada is finished." Edward Broadbent. Canadian Speeches. December 1989 vol. 3 no 8 p2-7 - To find the article, you would do a Title search for Canadian Speeches in the Library Catalogue. |
|
CIHM Microfiche - Indexes Canadian materials (books, annuals, and periodicals) from 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries. - Search by keyword or by subject. Look for sources, personal narratives, correspondence, photographs, maps |
Location of Database: Location of Microfilm Documents: |
Murray, James. Report of the state of the Government of Quebec in Canada by General James Murray. CIHM/ICMH Microfiche series no. 74382 - to find this document, go to the 2nd floor Micro Collection in Rutherford Library and find it on microfiche at the call number |
|
Early Canadiana Online - online collection of documents on Canadian history from the first European contact to the late 19th century - Search by subject or by keyword. Look for sources, personal narratives, diaries, correspondence, photographs, etc. |
Location of Database: Location of Documents: Fulltext online |
Spry, Irene M. The Papers o f the Palliser Expedition, 1857-1860. Toronto : Champlain Society, 1968. - All resources are available online. Just click on the link to the document. |
|
Peel Bibliography - indexes pre-1953 books and pamphlets relating to the Prairie Provinces, the discovery and settlement of the West - Search by subject. Look for photographs, personal narratives, etc. |
Location of Index: Location of Microfiche Documents: FC 02 1 - HSS Flr 2 Micro FC 3237 Z9 P37 1973 - HSS REF Flr 1 |
Pictures of Life in Canada - To find this document, you would go to the 2nd floor Micro Collection in Rutherford Library North and find the Peel Bibliography materials located at FC 02 1 (1909)Item #2074 |
|
Bibliographia Canadiana - search by subject - Primary sources also listed by item numbers 1-254. Indexes Canadian historical literature to 1970 - |
Location of Bibliography: Location of Documents: Look up useful documents in the NEOS Libraries Catalogue to find out if they are available at the U of A.FC 23 Z9 1973 - HSS Flr 1 Reference |
Bliss, J.M. (Ed.). Canadian history in documents, 1763-1966. To find this item, you would look up the title in the NEOS Libraries Catalogue. |
|
An Index to Saturday Night (1887-1937) - indexes Saturday Night, a Canadian magazine of politics and contemporary events - Search by subject. Look for personal narratives, correspondence, etc. |
Location of Index: NOTE: Issues from 1938 on are indexed in the Canadian Periodical Index Location of Saturday Night magazine: |
"Realities of the Conflict: Letters from a Canadian Officer at the Front." V28. Ja 2, 1915, p2. - To find this document, you would go to the 2nd floor Micro Collection in Rutherford Library and find the microfilmed magazine at AP 5 S25 |
|
Canadian Illustrated News Montreal (1869-1883) - Canadian news stories - Search by subject. Look for personal narratives, correspondence, etc. |
Location of Index: Location of Magazine: Illustrations available online Canadian Illustrated News: Images in the News, 1869-1883(National Library of Canada) |
"1872: Editorial on Fifth Anniversary of Dominion Day" VI:6. - to find this document, you would go to the 2nd floor Micro Collection in Rutherford Library and find the magazine on microfiche at FC 02 0203 no. 41014 |
Finding Primary Sources in Indexes and Online Databases – International Resources |
||
|
Index or Database |
Locations |
Example Document |
|
Poole's Plus - online database that indexes 19th century journals, books, newspapers, and government documents from all over the world - Search by keyword or by subject. Look for personal narratives, photographs, correspondence, sources, etc. |
Location of Database: |
Hourst, Lieutenant. "French enterprise in Africa: the personal narrative of Lieut. Hourst of his exploration of the Niger," tr. by Mrs. A. Bell. Athenaeum 1 (March 4, 1899):267-8. - to find this article, do a Title search in the Library Catalogue for the journal Athenaeum |
|
Cumulated Magazine Subject Index (1907-1949) - indexes articles from Canadian, American, and UK magazines, covering art, history, literature, folklore, religion, etc. - Search by subject. Look for personal narratives, correspondence, etc. |
Location of Index: - list of periodicals indexed provided in Vol. 1, p.ix-xvi (key to abbreviations for periodicals also provided) AI 3 A615 folio - HSS Flr 1 Reference |
C.S.S. Higham. "17th Century Accounts of a Colonial Governor's Agent." Am Hist. R. 28: 263-85 Ja. 1923. - to find this article, do a Title search in the Library Catalogue for the magazine American Historical Review |
|
Internet History Sourcebook Project (ed. Paul Halsall, Fordham University) - includes Ancient History Sourcebook, Medieval Sourcebook, Medieval Legal Sourcebook, Modern History Sourcebook, etc. - follow the links to the relevant directory |
Location of Database: |
Guibert de Nogent (d.1124): Autobiography. Medieval Sourcebook. - the full text of this document is available online - look up any texts that are cited in the NEOS Libraries Catalogue |
|
Historical Newspapers Online - indexes The Times (UK) and The New York Times - Search by keyword or by main heading. Look for narratives, correspondence, etc. |
Location of Database: |
"San Francisco--Earthquake: personal narratives." The Times.23 April 1906 (Page 5 col b) |
|
Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals (1837-1901) - indexes British periodicals of the time - Search by subject or keyword. Look for narratives, autobiography, etc. |
Location of Index: Ask at the Service Desk |
"Autobiography of Alexandre Dumas [pere]." Bentley's Miscellany. 32 (1852): 471. - to find this article, do a Title search in the Library Catalogue for Bentley's Miscellany |
*
This guide provides selective resources available through the Internet or at the University of Alberta to help you find Primary Sources. Any questions, comments or suggestions about finding primary sources should be directed to the Rutherford Library Service Desk
in person - library hours
by phone: (780) 492-5791
by email, IM or live chat: Ask us a Question
Last updated February 2007.