You are here: Home » Subject » Geriatrics » Resource Guide

Resource Guide for Geriatrics, Gerontology and Aging

Contents:

Finding Books
Finding Journal Articles
Key Journal Titles
Handbooks and Manuals
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Associations and Organizations
Government Documents and Sites
Statistics
Major Web Sites

 

 


 

Finding Books:

When looking for books on Geriatrics, Gerontology and Aging, search by subject or keyword in the NEOS Libraries' Catalogue. If you have an exact title or author you would like to find, search by that specific field in the catalogue, otherwise do a keyword or subject heading search. Examples of relevant subject headings for geriatrics include:

  • Geriatrics
  • Gerontology
  • Aged
  • Aged, 80 and over

Relevant related subjects include:

  • Aged--Care
  • Aged--Diseases
  • Aged--Health and hygiene
  • Aged--Home care
  • Aged--Hospital care
  • Aged--Institutional care
  • Aged--Long-term care
  • Aged--Medical care
  • Aged--Nutrition
  • Aged--Psychology
  • [Name of disease/condition] in old age, e.g. Diabetes in old age; Memory in old age

 

If you wish to browse the stacks for books on Gerontology in general, the Library of Congress Classification Number is RC 952+. Specific issues on care of the aged will be discussed within the context of the broader discipline. The following Library of Congress Classification Numbers will lead you to the right areas of the Scott Health Sciences Library:

  • Dentistry: RK 55 A3
  • Eye diseases: RE 48.2 A5
  • Gastroenterology: RC 802.4 A34
  • Geriatric nursing: RC 954
  • Geriatric pharmacology: RC 953
  • Hearing disorders: RF 291.5 A35
  • Minority aged: RA 408 M54
  • Nursing homes: RA 997+
  • Oncology: RC 281 A34
  • Orthopedic surgery: RD 732.3 A44
  • Personal health: RA 777.6
  • Psychiatry: RC 451.4 A5

Consult the NEOS Library Catalogue for call numbers for more specific works.


Finding Journal Articles:

To locate journal articles you need to search in a subject database (online index) for the journal literature in your field. Once in the database, enter the key concepts that you are looking for, and combine terms you would like to find in the same article. Online search help and user guides accompany most databases. For assistance with searching, please ask reference desk staff. Key databases for Gerontology and Geriatrics include:

AGELINE (1978 to present) provides bibliographic coverage of social gerontology which is the study of aging in psychological, health-related, social, and economic contexts.

CINAHL (1982 to the present) covers the major English language journals in the areas of nursing, occupational therapy, physical therapy and other allied health fields. Topics covered include patient care, health promotion, professional issues, patient education, rehabilitation, and related subjects.

EMBASE (1988 to the present) covers a wide range of journals in the biomedical and health sciences. EMBASE is particularly useful for location drug information, as it indexes many drug journals not covered by MEDLINE. It is also useful for retrieving non-North American journals not covered by Medline.

MEDLINE (1966 to the present) covers the world's biomedical and health sciences journal literature, including information on anatomy, physiology, biochemistry, clinical information outlining the nature and course of disease or injury, as well as its treatment. Also covers public health, health promotion, bioethics, medical education, legal aspects of medical practice, as well as a nursing subset and a dentistry subset.

PsycInfo (1984 to the present) covers the international literature in psychology. Topics include: applied psychology, communication systems, developmental psychology, education psychology, experimental psychology, personality, physical and psychological disorders, physiological psychology, psychometrics, social psychology and sports psychology.

PubMed (1966 to present). PubMed includes: all data in the Medline database and all journal citations from HealthStar. PubMed is particularly noted for the currency of its information as well as the links to full-text electronic journal links.

Complete list of Geriatrics related databases at the University of Alberta.


Key Journal Titles:

The top ten Geriatrics and Gerontology journal titles, ranked by their impact factor, according to Journal Citation Reports, 2007 are:

  1. Ageing Research Reviews
    Internet Access 2002-Present
  2.  

  3. Aging Cell
    Internet Access 2002-Present
  4.  

  5. Neurobiology of Aging
    UA Scott Health Sci Library: shelved by title 1986-1992
    Internet Access 1980-Present
  6.  

  7. Rejuvenation Research
    Not available at the U of A. Please use Interlibrary Loan to obtain copies of articles you require.
  8.  

  9. Mechanisms of Ageing and Development
    UA Scott Health Sci Library: shelved by title 1972-1992
    Internet Access 1972-Present
  10.  

  11. Biogerontology
    Internet Access 2000-present
  12.  

  13. Journal of the American Geriatrics Society
    UA Scott Health Sci Library: shelved by title 1953-2003
    Internet Access 2001-present 
  14.  

  15. American Journal of Geriatric Psychiatry
    Internet Access 1998-Present 
  16.  

  17. Journals of Gerontology. Series A, Biological Sciences and Medical Sciences
    UA Scott Health Sci Library: shelved by title 1995-Present
    Internet Access 2000-present 
    See the Journal of Gerontology for earlier issues
  18.  

  19. Age (Journal of the American Aging Association)
    Not available at the U of A. Please use Interlibrary Loan to obtain copies of articles you require.

     

 

 


 

Handbooks and Manuals:

  • Geriatric Medicine: an Evidence Based Approach. 4th ed.(2003)
    UA Scott Health Sci Library call number: RC 952 G364 2003
    Internet Access
  • Handbook of Assessment in Clinical Gerontology. (1999)
    UA Scott Health Sci Library call number: RC 451.4 A5 H358 1999
  • Handbook of geriatric assessment. (2006)
    UA Scott Health Sci Library call number: RC 953 G34 2006
  • Oxford Handbook of Geriatric Medicine
    UA Scott Health Sci Library call number: RC 952.55 B69 2006
  • Practical Ambulatory Geriatrics. (1998)
    UA Scott Health Sci Library call number: RC 952 A497 1998
  • The Practice of Geriatrics. (1998)
    UA Scott Health Sci Library call number: RC 952 P895 1998
    MD Consult
  • Principles of Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology. (2003)
    UA Scott Health Sci Library call number: RC 952 P955 2003
  • Reichel's Care of the Elderly : Clinical Aspects of Aging. (1999)
    UA Scott Health Sci Library call number: RC 952 C272 1999
    Internet Access

 

 


Dictionaries and Encyclopedias:

  • Merck Manual of Geriatrics, 2nd ed. (2000)
    UA Scott Health Sci Library call number: RC 952.55 M553 2000
    Internet Access
  • Encyclopedia of Aging (2002)
    UA Internet Access
  • Encyclopedia of Elder Care: The Comprehensive Resource on Geriatric and Social Care (2001)
    UA Scott Health Sci Library call number: RC 954 E53 2001
  • Encyclopedia of Gerontology: Age, Aging, and the Aged. (1996)
    UA Scott Health Sciences Library call number: RC 952.5 E58 1996
  • The Encyclopedia of Aging: A Comprehensive Resource in Gerontology and Geriatrics, 3rd ed. (2001)
    UA Scott Health Sci Library call number: HQ 1061 E53 2001

 


Associations and Organizations:


Government Documents and Sites:


Statistics:

  • AgeSource/AgeStat Worldwide (AARP)
  • Canada's Aging Population (Health Canada, 2002).  
    Humanities and Social Sciences Library Rutherford North Flr 4 HQ 1064 C2 C36 2002.
    UA Internet Access 
  • Canadian Study on Health and Aging. "National longitudinal study to provide accurate statistics on the number of people who have dementia, including Alzheimer's disease, in Canada. The study also covers a range of other health topics. The CSHA involved 10,263 people aged 65 or over, sampled from 36 communities across Canada. Representative samples were drawn from the community and from institutions, and participants were assessed at 5-yearly intervals: in 1991, 1996, and for a final time in 2001." Data overviews and lists of publications produced by they study are available at this site.
  • Fact Book on Aging in British Columbia. (2000)
    UA Scott Health Sci Library call number: HQ 1064 C2 F33 2000
  • Health and Population Aging : A Multinational Comparison. (1999)
    UA Scott Health Sci Library Reference call number: RA 564.8 A53 1999
    UA Internet Access
  • A Portrait of Seniors in Canada. (1999)
    UA Rutherford N Library call number: GOV DOC CA1 CS 89-519/1999
  • Residential Care Facilities (Statistics Canada; 2005-2006)
  • Trends in Health and Aging (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)
  • Beyond 50:  Summary Tables and Charts (AARP; U.S.)
  • The State of Aging and Health in America

See also Resource Guide to Health Statistics


Major Web Sites:

 

This guide provides selected resources available through the Internet or at the University of Alberta for Geriatrics, Gerontology and Aging.

Any questions, comments or suggestions about Geriatrics, Gerontology and Aging resources should be directed to:
Trish Chatterley email: patricia.chatterley@ualberta.ca or phone: (780) 492-7933.

Last updated June 2008