This guide lists resources available in the University of Alberta Libraries in print or other formats, as well as available in electronic format on the World Wide Web. Most print resources listed below are housed at the University of Alberta Humanities and Social Sciences Library, Rutherford Library Complex. Access to some online resources is restricted to the University of Alberta user community.
General Background Information Resources
Guide to the Republics of the Former Soviet Union
DK 293 T973 1993 - Reference (no loan)
The Modern Encyclopedia of Russian and Soviet History
DK 14 M68 1976 - Reference (no loan)
Placenames of Russia and the Former Soviet Union: Origins and Meanings...
DK 15 R66 1996 - Reference (no loan)
The World Almanac of the Soviet Union: from 1905 to the Present
DK 246 S537 1990 - Reference (no loan)
Background Information Resources that Concentrate on Ukraine
Encyclopedia of Ukraine
AE 60 U4 E62 1984 - Reference (no loan)
See also revised and updated online version
Entsyklopediia nashoho ukrainoznavstva
DK 508 A4 K79 2003 - copy 1: Reference (no loan); copy 2: On shelf (circulating)
Entsyklopediia suchasnoiï Ukrainy
AE 60 U4 E54 2001 - Reference (no loan)
Entsyklopediia ukrainoznavstva
AE 60 U4 E6 1993 - Reference (no loan)
Heohrafichna entsyklopediia Ukrainy
DK 508.2 H528 1989 - Reference (no loan)
Historical dictionary of Ukraine
DK 508.444 K64 2005 - Reference (no loan); copy 2: On shelf (circulating)
Internet encyclopedia of Ukraine
http://login.ezproxy.library.ualberta.ca/login?url=http://www.encyclopediaofukraine.com/default.asp
Istoriia Ukrainy v datakh
DK 508.444 L37 1995 - Reference (no loan)
Radians'ka Entsyklopediia Istorii Ukrainy
DK 508.5 R13 1969 - Reference (no loan)
Ukrains'kyi radians'kyi entsyklopedychnyi slovnyk
AE 60 U4 U355 1986 - Reference (no loan)
Ukraïntsi: istoryko-etnohrafichna monohrafiia u dvokh knyhakh
DK 508.42 U376 1999 - Reference (no loan)
(Table of contents in English and Ukrainian)
General Biographical Sources
Biographical Dictionary of Dissidents in the Soviet Union, 1956-1975
DK 275 A1 B615 1982 - Reference (no loan)
The Biographical Dictionary of the Former Soviet Union
DK 37 V984 1992 - Reference (no loan)
The International Who's Who of Women 1997
CT 3202 I625 1997 - Reference (no loan)
The Soviet Union: A Biographical Dictionary
DK 37 S729 1990 - Reference (no loan)
Who's Who in Russia and the New States
CT 1203 W628 1993 - Reference (no loan)
Who's Who in the Soviet Union
DK 37 W62 1984 - Reference (no loan)
Who Was Who in the USSR
DK 253 I54 [1972] - Reference (no loan)
Biographical Sources that Concentrate on Ukraine
Dictionary of Ukrainian Canadian Biography of Pioneer Settlers of Alberta 1891-1900
FC 3700 U5 K23 1984 - Reference (no loan)
Khto ie khto v Ukraini 1997
DK 508.45 K484 1997 - Reference (no loan)
Arkhivni materialy z istorii Ukrainy v Kanadi = Canadian Archival Holdings Pertaining to the History of Ukraine
DK 508 A3 K915 1990 - UA Rutherford North Flr 3 (circulating)
Online version in Ukrainian: http://login.ezproxy.library.ualberta.ca/login?url=http://www.archives.gov.ua/ArchUkr/canada.php
Online version in English: http://login.ezproxy.library.ualberta.ca/login?url=http://www.archives.gov.ua/Eng/canada.php
Guide to the Study of the Soviet Nationalities: Non-Russian Peoples in the USSR
DK 33 Z9 G94 1982 - Reference (no loan)
Independent Ukraine : a bibliographic guide to English-language publications
DK 508.12 W96 2000 - Reference (no loan)
Russia and Eastern Europe : a bibliographic guide to English-language publications, 1992-1999
DJK 9 Z9 S85 2001 - Reference (no loan)
Russia and the Former Soviet Union: a bibliographic guide to English language publications 1986-1991
DK 17 Z9 S949 1994 - Reference (no loan)
Russia/USSR (World bibliographical series v.6)
DK 17 P57 1994 - Reference (no loan)
The Soviet Union and Eastern Europe: A Bibliographic Guide...
DK 14 H79 1985 - Reference (no loan)
Handbuch Russland, Ukraine, Belarus, GUS-Kontakte : Institutionen, Projekte, Initiativen
DK 510.2 H36 1998 - Reference (no loan)
The Post-Soviet Handbook: A Guide to Grassroots Organizations and Internet Resources in the Newly Independent States
HS 71 F6 R84 1996 - Reference (no loan)
The Tauris Soviet Directory: The Elite of the USSR Today
DK 37.4 T227 1989 - Reference (no loan)
Zolota knyha ukrainskoi elity
DK 508 A46 Z65 2001 - Reference (no loan)
General Histories
Encyclopedia of Russian history
DK 14 E53 2004 - Reference (no loan)
Online version: http://login.ezproxy.library.ualberta.ca/login?url=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3404199999&q=edmo69826
Encyclopedia of Russian history : from the Christianization of Kiev to the break-up of the U.S.S.R
DK 36 P342 1993 - Reference (no loan)
Entsyklopediia istorii Ukrainy
DK 508.444 E587 2003 - Reference (no loan)
Entsiklopediia russkoi istorii
DK 36 B46 2000 - Reference (no loan)
Historical dictionary of Ukraine
DK 508.444 K64 2005 - copy 1: Reference (no loan); copy 2: UA Rutherford North Flr 3 (circulating)
A History of Ukraine
DK 508.51 M34 1996 - UA Rutherford North Flr 3 (circulating)
Istoriia otechestva : s drevneishikh vremen do nashikh dnei : entsiklopedicheskii slovar
DK 36 I84 1999 - Reference (no loan)
Online version: http://login.ezproxy.library.ualberta.ca/login?url=http://www.rubricon.com/io_1.asp
Narys istorii Ukrainy
DK 508.51 Z48 1992 - UA Rutherford North Flr 3 (circulating)
Rethinking Ukrainian History
DK 508.52 R43 1981 - UA Rutherford North Flr 3 (circulating)
Ukraine: A Brief History
DK 508.5 S99 1982 HSS - UA Rutherford North Flr 3 (circulating)
Ukraine: A History
DK 508.51 S94 1994 - UA Rutherford North Flr 3 (circulating)
Histories of Kyivan-Rus'
Historical dictionary of medieval Russia
DK 71 L32 2002 - Reference (no loan)
History of Ukraine-Rus'
DK 508.5 H6813 1997 - UA Rutherford North Flr 3 (circulating)
16th, 17th, 18th and 19th Century Histories
Twentieth Century Histories
Search for Journal Articles on History in the Slavic and East European Studies databases:
Entsiklopediia kultur narodov IUga Rossii v 9 tomakh
DK 509 E58 2005 - Reference (no loan)
Area Studies
National Movements
Use keywords such as: Western Ukraine, Ethnic Identity, Ethnic Relations, Bukovina, Galicia, Nationalism, Nationalities, Ukrainian National Movement to find Journal Articles in the Slavic and East European Studies databases.
Search For Journal Articles on Women's Issues in the Slavic and East European Studies databases or in the Women's Studies databases.
Jewish-Ukrainian Relations
Ukrainian-German Relations
Ukrainian-Polish Relations
Ukrainian-Russian Relations
To find journal articles you need to search in a periodical index. Many indexes are available online and some are in print. The online indexes are also called databases. Most databases listed on the Slavic and East European Studies page are relevant for Ukrainian studies. Some of the databases are open access, others are restricted to the University of Alberta user community (access restriction in the databases list is indicated by the UofA crest:
General Journals that Include Articles about Ukraine
Canadian Slavonic Papers
PG 1 C21 [1956-present]
UA Rutherford North Flr 5 (circulating) and HSS Current Periodicals Rutherford South Flr 2 (circulating)
- Articles from 1996 to the present indexed in Academic Search Elite
Slavonica
DJK 24 S44 [1994-present]
Formerly: Scottish Slavonic Review DJK 24 S43 [1983-1993]
UA Rutherford North Flr 3 (circulating) and HSS Current Periodicals Rutherford South Flr 2 (circulating)
- Articles indexed in MLA International Bibliography
Slavic Review
D 377 A1 S6 [1992-present]
UA Rutherford North Flr 4 (circulating) and HSS Current Periodicals Rutherford South Flr 2 (circulating)
- Articles from 1990 to the present indexed in ABSEES
- Slavic Review Online - inludes abstracts of the articles in the current issue, and tables of contents of previous issues and of the forthcoming issue
Journals that Concentrate on Ukraine
Dzvin'
AP 58 U5 Z632 [1990-present] HSS Rutherford South 1st Floor
Ekonomika radians'koi Ukrainy
HC 337 U3 E36 [1961-1991] HSS 4th Floor
Harvard Ukrainian Studies
DK 508 A2 H325 [1977-1992] HSS 3rd Floor
Journal of Ukrainian Studies
(Formerly: Journal of Ukrainian Graduate Studies 1976-1979)
DK 508 A2 J862 [1980-present]
HSS 3rd Floor and HSS Current Periodicals Rutherford South 2nd Floor
Krytyka (Kiev, Ukraine)
Internet Access: v.5 (2001)- http://login.ezproxy.library.ualberta.ca/login?url=http://www.krytyka.kiev.ua/
Z 1035 A1 K96 [1998-present] HSS 5th Floor
The Ukrainian Quarterly
DK 508 A2 U35 [1955-present]
HSS 3rd Floor and HSS Current Periodicals Rutherford South 2nd Floor
The Ukrainian Review
DK 508 A2 U352 [1954-1996] HSS 3rd Floor
Ukrainskyi istorichnyi zhurnal
DK 508 A2 U37 [1957-present]
UA Rutherford 3rd Floor and HSS Current Periodicals Rutherford South 2nd Floor
Vidomosti Verkhovnoi rady Ukrainy
GOV DOC UR2 UK VS V382 - Rutherford South 1st Floor
A number of newspapers are available online full-text through subscription based databases. Please check out the following:
Ukrainian publications (UDB-UKR)
http://www.library.ualberta.ca/databases/databaseinfo/index.cfm?ID=3405
Brama's UKRAINENEWSTAND - in English and Ukrainian. Includes links to other news sources.
Holos Ukrainy: Hazeta Verkhovnyi Rady Ukrainy
AN 58 U5 K4 H65 [1995-present]
HSS 2nd Floor Microfilm and HSS Current Periodicals Rutherford South 2nd Floor
Online through Ukrainian publications dB http://login.ezproxy.library.ualberta.ca/login?url=http://dlib.eastview.com/sources/publication.jsp?id=1088
Kievskii telegraf
Online through NewspaperDirect dB http://www.library.ualberta.ca/databases/databaseinfo/index.cfm?ID=3586
Literaturna Ukraina
Shelved by title
HSS Current Periodicals Rutherford South 2nd Floor and Newspaper Storage
Svoboda
(Alternate Titles: Ukrainian Daily, Ukrainian Weekly, and Liberty)
AN 2 N4 J5 S9 [1893-1992] HSS 2nd Floor Microfilm
Ukrainian Canadian Herald / Ukrains'ko-kanads'ki visnyk
AN 5 O5 T6 U33 [1992-1997] HSS 2nd Floor Microfilm
Vechirnii Kyiv
Online through Ukrainian publications dB http://login.ezproxy.library.ualberta.ca/login?url=http://dlib.eastview.com/sources/publication.jsp?id=4320
-------------------------------------------------------------
Recommended Online Resources for Ukrainian Studies
This guide provides selective resources available through the Internet or at the University of Alberta for Ukrainian Studies.
Any questions, comments or suggestions about Ukrainian Studies should be directed to:
Erika Banski - email: erika.banski@ualberta.ca or phone: (780) 492-1404.
Last updated: February 2006
Guide compiled by Lindsay Johnston; updated and maintained by Erika Banski